INSTRUCTIONS: NAME CHANGE PACKET-MINOR CHILDREN
There are 8 different required forms in this packet. The other three forms are optional. Follow these instructions and the instructions within the packet closely.
“Name Change Packet-Minor Children Step 1”
Fill out Form 1 and Form 2. Only complete these forms before signing Form 1 in front of the Family Law Clerk in Room 211 at the Multnomah County Courthouse.
“Name Change Packet-Minor Children Step 2”
Fill out Form 3 and sign the form in front of the Family Law Clerk. Ask the clerk to provide a certified copy of Form 3. Pay the filings fees ($158.00) in Room 210 of the Courthouse. Ask the cashier for a case number, and make sure they place the case number on all required forms.
“Name Change Packet-Minor Children Step 3”
Complete Form 4 and leave the hearing date and time of hearing space blank. In Room 211, use the telephone by the name change board. Dial 83185 and ask for a hearing date for a minor. Provide the date on Form 4 and ask the Clerk for a certified copy. Place Form 4 on the Name Change Bulletin Board and leave the for there for at least 30 days before the hearing.
“Name Change Packet-Minor Children Step 4”
Notice needs sent to the other parent by personal service, 3rd party service, or certified mail. If the second parent never resided with the child and never provided support, the petitioning parent may fill out Form 9 for waiver of written notice.
“Name Change Packet-Minor Children Step 5”
Take down the notice from the bulletin board and complete Form 5 on the date of the hearing. Sign the form in front of the Clerk. Then, complete Form 6 and leave the judge’s signature and date blank. Take Forms 4, 5 and 6 to the hearing.
“Name Change Packet-Minor Children Step 6”
If the judge approves the change of name, complete Form 7 and post the form on the small Name Change Bulletin Board. Then, complete Form 8 and sign the form in front of the Clerk.
“Name Change Packet-Minor Children Step 7”
A certified copy of the General Judgment is sent to the petitioning parent or guardian within 2 days after the hearing. Copies of this form are required for changing important documents like the minor’s birth certificate, social security card, and more.
INSTRUCTIONS: PETITION FOR NAME CHANGE ADULT
The Petition for the state of Utah is easy to fill out. The Petition and all other required forms need submitted to the District Court in the county the adult currently resides.
“Petition for Name Change Adult Step 1”
Before completing the Petition, you need to undergo an investigation by the Utah Sex Offender Registry. Mail the Department of Corrections Certification Regard Sex Offender Registry along with a stamped and self-address envelope to the Department of Corrections. You cannot change your name if you’re on the sex offender list.
“Petition for Name Change Adult Step 2”
Complete the Petition and attach the form you received back from the Department of Corrections. Make copies of both of these documents and sign the Petition in front of Notary Public. You’ll have to submit the Cover Sheet as well.
“Petition for Name Change Adult Step 3”
Pay the filing fees for the change of name process with your District Court Clerk. If you’re currently married and you want to change your name, you need to complete and send the Notice for Hearing on Petition for Name Change. The clerk will notify you of a hearing date and time.
“Petition for Name Change Adult Step 4”
Before the hearing, complete the required sections of the Order Changing Name. Enter the courtroom and wait for your case to be called. Be prepared to answer any number of questions in front of the judge.
“Petition for Name Change Adult Step 5”
If the judge approves the name change, take the signed Order Changing Name to the clerk and ask for any number of certified copies. You’ll need these copies if you want to change your name on your birth certificate, social security card, driver’s license, and more.
“Petition for Name Change Adult Step 6”
In some cases, the change of name may be denied. You have the option to appeal the initial decision of the judge. In order to appeal, re-submit a new Order Changing Name within 30 days of the first hearing. If you want to appeal, you need to contact an attorney for further instructions.
“Petition for Name Change Adult Step 7”
The state of Utah does not require you to personally change your birth certificate if you’ve changed your married name. The Office of Vital Records will make the change automatically.