Emancipation

Form Juvenile Petition for Emancipation


Form Juvenile Petition for Emancipation

INSTRUCTIONS: JUVENILE PETITION FOR EMANCIPATION (AOC-J-900M)

 

According to §7B-3504 of the North Carolina Statutes, the court will consider the following factors when a minor 16 years or older is seeking emancipation:

· parental need for the earnings of the petitioner

· petitioner’s ability to function as adult

· petitioner’s need to contract as adult or marry

· employment status of the petitioner and their living arrangements

· events in the family that may threaten reconciliation between family and petitioner

· petitioner’s rejection of supervision or support

· overall quality of supervision or support

“Juvenile Petition for Emancipation AOC-J-900M Step 1”

In the heading of the form, you need to provide the county where your parents or guardian preside, as well as your full legal name, date of birth, age, social security number, and place of birth.  The Clerk of Court will provide you with a file number.

“Juvenile Petition for Emancipation AOC-J-900M Step 2”

Section 1 of the form requires the petitioner to attach a copy of your birth certificate.  The copy must be a certified copy and not a photocopy.

“Juvenile Petition for Emancipation AOC-J-900M Step 3”

Section 2 requires the petitioner to list the names and address of both of their parents or their guardian or custodian.  If you cannot locate a parent, you need to specify that you tried to reach the parent but could not.

“Juvenile Petition for Emancipation AOC-J-900M Step 4”

Section 3 requires the petitioner to state their current address and how long they have lived as the residence.

“Juvenile Petition for Emancipation AOC-J-900M Step 5”

Section 4 requires the petitioner to list the reasons they are seeking emancipation.  If you need more room, you can attach another document and state “See attached copy” at the bottom of section 4.

“Juvenile Petition for Emancipation AOC-J-900M Step 6”

Section 5 requires the petitioner to state how they are going to meet their own needs and living expenses.  The form suggests that the petitioner attach a statement from their employer stating the total amount of wages earned.

“Juvenile Petition for Emancipation AOC-J-900M Step 7”

Sign and date the proper section under the “Verification” section.  Print your name below your signature.  The form must be signed in front of Notary Public. 

Note: According to §7B-3503 of the statues, the court may require the juvenile to be examined by a psychiatrist or other expert.

 

Download the PDF file .

Form Emancipation Packet

INSTRUCTIONS: PETITION FOR LIMITED EMANCIPATION OF MINOR 

 

According to §41-1-501 of the Montana Annotated Code, a youth who is 16 years of age or older, the youth’s parent, or the department of public health and human services may petition for limited emancipation for the youth. 

“Petition for Limited Emancipation of Minor Step 1”

Apart from the petition, you’ll also need the following forms:

· Order Setting Hearing

· Notice of Hearing on Limited Emancipation of a Minor

· Consent to Limited Emancipation of a Minor (optional)

· Order for Limited Emancipation of a Minor

· Affidavit of Inability to Pay (if petitioner cannot afford filing fees)

“Petition for Limited Emancipation of Minor Step 2”

Make sure to do the following when filling out the forms:

· Fill out all the blanks on the Petition for Limited Emancipation of a Minor

· Sign and date all of the forms

· Fill out the judicial district, county, and caption on all forms

“Petition for Limited Emancipation of Minor Step 3”

If your parents or legal guardian consents to the limited emancipation, make sure they fill out a consent form and sign it in front of Notary Public. Make copies of all the forms after they are completed.

“Petition for Limited Emancipation of Minor Step 4”

Go to your county courthouse and give the Clerk of District Court the petition along with all other necessary forms.  If your parents have signed consent forms, file each form with the court as well. 

“Petition for Limited Emancipation of Minor Step 5”

If you cannot afford the filing fees at this time, you need to fill out an Affidavit of Inability to Pay.

“Petition for Limited Emancipation of Minor Step 6”

Give the Clerk a self-addressed stamped envelope and make sure he or she mails two copies of the Order Setting Hearing and Notice of Hearing after the judge has signed the forms.  Give the copies to the Clerk and have them stamp the copies.  Make sure you keep the forms.

“Petition for Limited Emancipation of Minor Step 7”

Arrive to the hearing at least 15 minutes early.  Make sure you’re prepared to list specific reasons why you’re seeking emancipation.

“Petition for Limited Emancipation of Minor Step 8”

If the judge approves the emancipation, he or she will sign the Order after the hearing. 

Download the PDF file .